4.1.1 Paper size

Two functions are available for changing the paper size: set-default-paper-size and set-paper-size. set-default-paper-size must be placed in the toplevel scope, and set-paper-size must be placed in a \paper block:

#(set-default-paper-size "a4")
\paper {
  #(set-paper-size "a4")

set-default-paper-size sets the size of all pages, whereas set-paper-size only sets the size of the pages that the \paper block applies to. For example, if the \paper block is at the top of the file, then it will apply the paper size to all pages. If the \paper block is inside a \book, then the paper size will only apply to that book.

Common paper sizes are available, including a4, letter, legal, and 11x17 (also known as tabloid). Many more paper sizes are supported by default. For details, see ‘scm/paper.scm’, and search for the definition of paper-alist.

Note: The default paper size is a4.

Extra sizes may be added by editing the definition of paper-alist in the initialization file ‘scm/paper.scm’, however they will be overridden on a subsequent install.

If the symbol 'landscape is supplied as an argument to set-default-paper-size, pages will be rotated by 90 degrees, and wider line widths will be set accordingly.

#(set-default-paper-size "a6" 'landscape)

Setting the paper size will adjust a number of \paper variables, such as margins. To use a particular paper size with altered \paper variables, set the paper size before setting the variables.

See also

Installed Files: ‘scm/paper.scm’.

Snippets: Spacing.

Other languages: espaƱol.

Notation Reference