1.242 quality

ES: ?, I: qualità (?), F: qualité (?), D: ?, NL: ?, DK: ?, S: ?, FI: laatu.

The quality of a triad is determined by the precise arrangement of its intervals. Tertian triads can be described as a series of three notes. The first element is the root note (or simply ‘root’) of the chord, the second note is the ‘third’ of the chord, and the last note is the ‘fifth’ of the chord. These are described below:

Chord name

Component intervals



major triad

major third/perfect fifth


C, CM, Cma, Cmaj, CΔ

minor triad

minor third/perfect fifth


Cm, Cmi, Cmin, C-

augmented triad

major third/augmented fifth


C+, C^+, Caug

diminished triad

minor third/diminished fifth


Cm(♭5), Cº, Cdim

There are various types of seventh chords depending on the quality of the original chord and the quality of the seventh added.

Five common types of seventh chords have standard symbols. The chord quality indications are sometimes superscripted and sometimes not (e.g. Dm7, Dm^7, and D^m7 are all identical). The last three chords are not commonly used except in jazz.

See also


Music glossary